Department of Mathematics
You are here: CSM > Mathematics > Students > Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships and Awards

Brann Scholarships
Scholarships for undergraduate students who have completed a minimum of 30 credits, but not more than 90, and who are majoring in Biology, Biology Medical Technology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics. Qualified students may apply directly or may be nominated by a faculty member.
Northrop Grumman Scholarships
Scholarships for third and fourth year undergraduate students majoring in mathematics, computer science, or any physical science. Selection will be based on scholastic achievement and character.
Christine Armett-Kibel Scholarship
The purpose of this fund is to provide scholarship assistance for undergraduate students in their junior and senior years at the University who are majoring in Biology, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Earth, Environment and Ocean Science, Computer Science, Engineering and future majors in the College of Science, and when appropriate, other fields and disciplines where the content of the studentís work is extensively and primarily involved with the natural sciences. Whereas the primary purpose of the fund is scholarship assistance, it can, under certain circumstances, provide support to enhance the studentís educational experience, such as conference fees, travel to conferences, etc. The following guidelines will apply: A) Applicants will have a minimum of 55 credits completed toward degree with at least 12 credits at the University; B) Applicants must be United States citizens; C) Applicants will be evaluated on their academic record, promise and determination, and intention to pursue a career in the Sciences; D) Students are eligible to receive the award more than once;
Math Department Awards:
Honors in Mathematics
The Honors in Mathematics distinction is designed to recognize the achievements of graduating math majors who, in addition to having excellent results in regular class work, have successfully completed an independent research project under the supervision of a faculty member.
Juan Carlos Merlo Prize
This prize is awarded annually to a graduating mathematics student for outstanding achievement. The prize honors the memory of Professor Juan Carlos Merlo, a distinguished teacher and scholar who died in 1974 while in the service of the University of Massachusetts Boston.
Taffee Tanimoto Award for Service
This prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has particularly distinguished him or herself by being of service to classmates and the department. The prize honors Professor Taffee Tanimoto, who founded the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at UMass Boston in 1965 and was its chair for 11 years.

  Logo - Mathematics Department Department of Mathematics
University of Massachusetts Boston
Phone: 617-287-6460;   Fax: 617-287-6433